Seven southern provinces still inundated by floods

The Department of Disaster Prevention and Mitigation says flooding situation in the South is improving but seven provinces are still submerged.

Chatchai Promlert, director-general of the department, said seven southern provinces where flood inundation are still affecting residents are Nakhon Si Thammarat, Surat Thani, Phatthalung, Prachuap Khiri Khan, Trang, Songkhla, and Chumphon.

He said 37 districts, 174 tambon (subdistrict), 1,140 villages in these seven provinces remain inundated by floods.

But he said the general flood situation is improving.

He said now the department is cooperating with the military and other relevant government agencies to enter the flooded areas for rehabilitation, and assessment of damages so the all affected people will be aided.

Source: Thai Public Broadcasting Service (Thai PBS)