Thailand’s Deputy PM Becomes Leader Of Ruling Palang Pracharath Party

BANGKOK,   Thailand’s Deputy Prime Minister, Prawit Wongsuwon, was named leader of the Palang Pracharath Party on Saturday.

Prawit, who has earlier acted as head of the ruling party’s strategic campaign committee, was given overwhelming votes as the new party leader from the party’s acting executive board.

A total of 27 members of the Palang Pracharath Party, including the new party leader, were named members of the party’s new executive board, including Palang Pracharath MP, Anucha Nakasai, as party secretary general and government spokeswoman, Narumon Pinyosinwat, as party treasurer.

Several cabinet ministers retained their membership in the party’s executive board, including Justice Minister, Somsak Thepsuthin, Industry Minister, Suriya Juangroongruangkit, Education Minister, Nataphol Teepsuwan, Digital for Economy and Society Minister, Puttipong Punnakanta, Deputy Finance Minister, Santi Prompat, Deputy Agriculture and Cooperatives Minister, Thammanat Prompao and Culture Minister, Itthiphol Khunpleum.

Meanwhile, Finance Minister, Uttama Savanayana, and Energy Minister, Sontirat Sontijirawong, were no longer picked as members of the party’s executive board, since they earlier lost their status as party leader and party secretary general respectively.


Source: NAM News Network